Review: MopTop leave-it-in conditioner

This post is also available in: German

It’s time for a new review! If you’ve been following my blog for a while now, I guess you already know that I really like some of the MopTop products (no, they were neither sent to me, nor did they pay me anything to review them – I just really like them :-)). So I figured it was time to try another of their products – the MopTop leave-it-in conditioner!

MopTop leave-it-in conditioner

I only use a small amount to leave in my curls

I apply this leave-in conditioner after I’ve first detangle my curls with the Kinky Curly Knot Today. Because my curls are easily weighed down and tend to get over-conditioned if I don’t pay attention to the amount of products I use, I only added a rather small portion to the ends of my curls. I don’t rinse the MopTop leave-it-in conditioner, but finish by styling my curls with a gel. If, however, your curls need the extra moisture, feel free to apply a more generous amount and also spread it up to your roots.

The consistency of the MopTop leave-it-in conditioner is not like the one of a typical conditioner, but more gel-like. I think it feels like the Kinky Curly Knot Today, which is also why these products go together perfectly.

You should try this leave-in conditioner, if…

  • you’re looking for a (light) leave-in that moisturizes your curls without weighing them down
  • your curls tend to get frizzier throughout the day and you therefore want to provide your curls with more moisture throughout the day
  • you’re looking to get shinier curls
  • your curls like products like the Kinky Curly Knot Today, the MopTop anti-frizz gel or the Curl Junkie Curl Assurance Smoothing Lotion

It’s funny how I’ve so far like all of the MopTop products that I’ve tried before, it almost seems like these products were made for me 🙂

12 Comments
  • Trish
    February 5, 2016

    What does it smell like? Is it strong smelling? I’m not fond of product that is heavily perfumed because I am highly sensitive to smell. I try and get non-scented product but they are few-and-far-between and usually not the right product for me.

    We have the same curl pattern and I find all of your posts informative and useful. Thank you for sharing your knowledge and experience.

    Trish

    xxoxo

    • Sandra
      February 28, 2016

      I personally don’t think it smells a lot, however I’m not very sensitive to smell. But since you mentioned you were trying to find non-smelling products I don’t think this one would be the right product for you. I imagine it being quite difficult finding products with almost no smell at all – I hope you’ll find another one you’ll like!

  • Tila
    February 13, 2016

    i’m gonna start doing the curly girl method and i literally have the same curl texture as you do and i was wondering if you could give me your current hair routine? like the best no silicone conditioners, etc bc i’m seriously struggling with my hair 🙁

    thank you so much!

    • Sandra
      February 28, 2016

      Hi Tila, it’s good to hear you want to start doing the CG method! I usually wash my hair with the Curl Junkie Gentle Cleanser, then detangle with the Kinky Curly Knot Today, condition with the MopTop Daily Conditioner, add the above mentioned leave-in and then style my hair with either the MopTop anti-frizz gel (medium hold) or the Kinky Curly Curling Custard. I hope this helps 🙂 If you’re interested in seeing my current routine, feel free to watch my video on it: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EU4sq5QFqyg

  • Deb-bee
    March 9, 2016

    Hi Sandra!

    Are the products you’re using sulphate-free and silicone-free? I’m looking for a good conditioner…

    Sadly I can’t chose the shampoo because I have a scalp condition that requires a medical product =__= but at least I can get the conditioner and leave in I want, as long as it doesn’t get in contact with the scalp…

    And by the way, where do you buy the MopTop products? Does anyone sell them in Switzerland or do you buy them online? I’m curious to try them ;o)

    • Sandra
      March 10, 2016

      Most of them are (I usually mention it in the posts when a product isn’t silicone and sulfate free). Depending on the reason you’re looking for a new conditioner I can suggests different ones: MopTop Daily Conditioner, the above described leave-in or the Kinky Curly Knot Today!

      I always order my products from Curlmart.com 🙂

  • Luna
    April 8, 2016

    You have no idea how happy i was to see your blog page 🙂 !!

    I learned to embrace my curls while I lived in Chicago since they embrace curls so much there and have many products and salons for curly girls. Ive been curly for about 4 years now and still learning how to handle them. I moved to Switzerland last June.

    I REALLY need a good shape up cut, the last time I got a “Deva Cut” ( i am sure you know this) it wasn’t so good and then i just bought the Deva book and have been trimming my hair at home… eh… it could look better! I have been looking to get my hear cut and coloured but haven’t found anything specific for Curly hair in Zurich city. The salon you recommended costs over CHf200,- just for a cut…I cannot bring myself to pay so much for a shape up since i don’t want to cut too much but do need a re-shape and cant afford that.

    Could you recommend where i could get a good hair cut in Zurich ( if you know any) ? Or a good cut for less than that…It would be amazing if you could give me some advice. 🙂

    Thank you for making this blog and loving your curls! I am learning to love them mine too 😀

    • Sandra
      April 11, 2016

      Hi Luna, thank you very much for your comment! I know, it’s so difficult to care for curly hair in Switzerland, because it always tends to get really expensive.. Fabienne from MeineLocken really is the best haidresser I’ve been to, but unfortunately also quite expensive.. I’m sorry for not being able to recommend a cheaper hairdresser!

  • Melanie
    July 19, 2016

    Have you ever tried the Mop Top Gentle Shampoo? Curlmart is out of the Curl Junkie Gentle Cleanser and I am running out. Thinking of trying the Mop Top and just wondered if you ever had. Thanks for all your great tips! I use and love most of the same products!

    • Sandra
      July 19, 2016

      No, I haven’t tried the Mop Top Shampoo, but so far I liked all of their products, so I suppose I would like it too 🙂 But I also like the DevaCurl No Poo Shampoo.

  • Amy
    October 12, 2017

    Can you tell me why you use both the daily conditioner and the leave-in? I’ve heard some people use only one or the other, but I’ve also heard quite a few people who use both.

  • Thebeautyitem
    September 10, 2018

    Thank you so much for this article. Actually, this article is so attractive for us. Best conditioners is most important hair care product use hair care and maintenance. I think this article is better than another article.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *