Curly Hair Solutions Curl Keeper Original Review

After seeing the great reviews on Curlmart, I decided that I needed to try the Curly Hair Solutions Curl Keeper Original. I therefore used it as a hair gel for the past few weeks. Keep on reading to see what I think about it.

Curly Hair Solutions Curl Keeper Original Review

The results using the Curly Hair Solutions Curl Keeper

In the above picture you can see that my curls are frizzier than they are usually (especially in the back). This is a bit disappointing, especially since I read that this gel has worked so well for other curlies resulting in frizz-free curls…

As you might know, I would like my curls to be a bit curlier than they actually are, so I am always looking for products to support curl formation. But when using this gel my curls don’t curl as much as they usually do (you can see this in the front) and moreover my hair appear to be almost straight around the parting line. These are the reasons why I am a bit disappointed with the results of the Curly Hair Solutions Curl Keeper. This means that I won’t continue to use it.

Curly Hair Solutions Curl Keeper Original Review

My curls form the back – you can see how frizzy they still are after using the Curly Hair Solutions Curl Keeper

Again, you can see that there’s a lot of frizz in the back. At first, I thought that my curls are this frizzy because I am not using enough of the Curl Keeper, however I don’t think that is true – I have tried styling my curls with this product using the suggested amount.

So before I toss this gel, I would like to as if you had any suggestions as to how to apply it and which amount worked best? Or maybe it needs to be combined with other gels? How did you get it to work?

18 Comments
  • Shannon
    August 16, 2016

    I enjoy reading your blog!

    I have read of others who layer the Curl Keeper underneath other styling products. So maybe put your gel on top of the Curl Keeper and see if that makes a difference for you! 🙂

  • Amy
    August 16, 2016

    The curl keeper is not a gel. It is more of a serum that you are supposed to use after your leave in and before your normal styling products! Hopefully that works out better for you

  • Cindy
    August 16, 2016

    Yes, I agree with the above. I haven’t used it (been wanting to try!), but from reviews I have read you are supposed to apply Curlkeeper before your regular gel.

    Do not toss! Send it my way. 🙂

  • Laurie
    August 16, 2016

    You should definitely use a gel with it. The product alone doesn’t make your hair curly,it just keeps it curly for a longer period of time when used with a gel. Try kinky curly hair with it. You will see a dramatic difference in your curls.

    • Laurie
      August 16, 2016

      Thanks

    • Michelle Henry
      November 25, 2016

      Best to put leave-in conditioner (I use knot today) then curl keeper original (a lot) then a gel (I use Ecostyler olive oil gel). If you do not use all three then your hair will be dry and not frizz-free.

      One mistake I did do was I added argan oil after my leave-in conditioner and before curl keeper original. That deflated the effect of curl keeper and my hair was frizzy. Thus just use the 3 layers (leave-in, curl keeper, gel).

      Careful what products you do use (or not use) with curl keeper original or it will lose its effectiveness.

  • sarah
    August 17, 2016

    I have used this before and needed a gel ontop, I used to put in my leave in, then curl keeper then my gel.
    I thought it was ok but I found it drying after a while, I hope you can get better results 🙂

  • Nicolle
    August 18, 2016

    Yes, I agree with the comments above. You definitely need a leave inunderneath, as well as a gel on top. I usually layer Knot Today, Curl Keeper Original and Curl Keeper Gel and I get frizz free hair (in Miami humidity!) for at least 3 days.

  • Brandy
    August 18, 2016

    I tried it too and used Mop Top medium hold gel on top (my favorite). I didn’t like it. Seemed too drying for my hair and I had more frizz than normal. Didn’t like it personally.

  • Jess
    August 18, 2016

    I am Canadian and I used to get my hair cut at the Jonathan Torch Curly Hair Institute (the salon that created Curly Hair Solutions) in Toronto. Best haircuts of my life! My stylist told me that you’re supposed to apply a LOT of Curl Keeper. Like, way more than you would any other product. You’re supposed to really pile it on. I liked what it did for my curls but stopped using it because my hair took FOREVER to dry. Hope this helps a bit!

    P.S. I love your site, Sandra. You’re my hair idol!

  • Tanisha
    August 19, 2016

    You have gorgeous curls, I’m so jealous – mine are so unmanageable! Do you mind reading my curly hair dilemma post? I’d love some advice! http://tanishajadehall.com/blog/2016/8/18/curly-hair-confessions

  • Ty
    August 22, 2016

    Ah I was wondering why you weren’t happy with this product. Agree with all the other users! Use as a serum to coat hair then follow with gel.

  • Cindi
    August 26, 2016

    I have very thin, but wavy to curly hair. It’s also really frizzy. I would like a product (or maybe it will need to be more than one!) that will put some volume in but also get rid of the frizzies! I use Argan oil, and it looks fine when I leave the house. But middle of the day, the frizzies are back. What would you sugges?

    • Sandra
      August 27, 2016

      Are you sure you’re applying enough conditioner? Usually that’s the problem when your curls turn frizzy in the middle of the day..

  • Pascale
    December 1, 2016

    Hi, I am so happy I find you on the internet by coinsidence while looking for curly tips. My hair is now 1year natural (I have straighted my hair for over 20years!) I am 48years old. I am reading your blog over and over to learn about my hair and the products that you use. Thank you for sharing it. Pascale

  • Pascale
    December 1, 2016

    hi Sandra, earlier I forgot to ask what is your opinion to grow faster hair, on the internet their are so many tips with oil etc. Pascale

    • Sandra
      December 7, 2016

      Hi Pascale, thanks for your comment! I’ve never tried any methods to get my hair to grow faster, so unfortunately I can’t give you any tips on that…

  • M
    April 13, 2017

    I tried Curl Keeper + the gel and my naturally curly hair yet not perfect was a mess. I had more frizz than I have ever had in my life. I found the product very drying – think straw – to my hair that I hope I did not damage it. I was so hoping this was this answer but it seems that I will have to go back to Ouidad products.. which are very expensive.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *